Our Gas Club’s website doesn’t directly provide company ownership or executive information.

For that you have to specifically visit the “webinars” section, wherein it is disclosed Troy Mason is President and CEO of the company.

BehindMLM first came across Mason back in 2013 with Gas Club of America.

Gas Club of America was a simple matrix-based pyramid scheme, combined with penny auctions.

Penny auctions were a thing at the time, mostly owing to success of the by then shutdown Zeek Rewards Ponzi scheme.

Other MLM companies launched by Troy Mason include Zlicense (2015) and ZBlackCard (2018).

As recounted by Mason in an April 8th 2022 Our Gas Club corporate webinar;

I saw a trend, okay, that I’d seen before, okay.

And so I want to make this perfectly clear to you guys. When I saw this trend started to happen, it was something that was happening back in 2008 I think it was, in which I noticed that kinda the gas prices were starting to creep up.

I watched it for a minute and I sad, “Waitaminute, hold on. This is getting ready to repeat 2008.”

And so we started preparing back over four months ago, for what’s happening right now today.

Our Gas Club’s website domain was registered on March 2nd, 2022.

Figuring there was a high probability Mason had launched other gas schemes between 2008 and 2022, I ran a search and came across Ztegrity.

Note the date of the video, November 4th 2021. This loosely fits in with Mason’s “four months ago” claim above.

Here’s where things get interesting. Prior to being rebooted as the precursor for Our Gas Club, Ztegrity was a forex opportunity.

In June 2021, the CFTC sued Mason and Ztegrity for fraud.

The Commodity Futures Trading Commission announced today that it has filed a civil enforcement action in the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Texas against Troy Mason of Houston, Texas and his Texas-based company, ZTegrity, Inc., charging them with fraudulent solicitation and failing to register with the CFTC as required by the Commodity Exchange Act (CEA).

The complaint alleges that from at least October 2019 to the present the defendants used various websites and social-media platforms to fraudulently market their forex trading pool as a version of a savings account that offered a greater yield with similarly low or no risk.

The defendants called this forex trading pool “The Black Club” and “The Forex Savings Club,” which their website claimed had received over $460,000 from 411 participants.

The complaint further alleges the defendants induced participation in their forex trading pool by falsely claiming to “guarantee” to repay participants the funds they contributed to their individual “Forex Savings Accounts” and falsely offered participants “with a 100% certainty” portions of the “substantial profit[s]” to be generated using participants’ pooled funds to trade forex.

I pulled up the case docket. On June 9th the CFTC filed an emergency motion seeking an ex parte statutory restraining order.

The motion was granted on June 10th, prohibiting Mason from

withdrawing, transferring, removing dissipating, or disposing of any funds, assets or other property received in connection with (the) unlawful operation of the Forex Savings Club.

Mason was also prohibited from destroying and related Ztegrity evidence.

On July 2nd the CFTC filed for a preliminary injunction, which would supersede the already granted statutory restraining order.

A preliminary injunction was granted against Mason and Ztegrity on July 13th.

As of September 1st, a trial has been scheduled for February or March 2023. Mason filed his response to the CFTC’s lawsuit on September 23rd.

Ztegrity’s late 2021 gas offering was put together after the CFTC shut down Mason’s forex scheme.

For all intents and purposes Ztegrity’s gas offering is a reboot of Gas Club of America, and Our Gas Club is a rename/reboot of Ztegrity.

The rebranding is likely an attempt to distance public association with the CFTC’s Ztegrity fraud lawsuit.

Read on for a full review of Our Gas Club’s MLM opportunity.

Our Gas Club’s Products

Our Gas Cub markets $19.95 access to an app-based discount platform.

No specifics about the platform are provided.

Our Gas Club’s Compensation Plan

Our Gas Club’s compensation plan pays on recruitment of $89.95 a month fee-paying affiliates.

Commissions are paid down two levels of recruitment (unilevel):

  • level 1 – $25 a month
  • level 2 – $15 a month

Commissions are paid each month as long as recruited affiliates continue to pay their $89.95 fee.

Joining Our Gas Club

Our Gas Cub affiliates must first sign up for the $19.95 app-based discount portal.

Affiliate membership is then $79.95 a month.

Our Gas Club Conclusion

The “gas” side of Our Gas Club is marketing for what is otherwise a bog-standard pyramid scheme.

The ruse is Our Gas Club earnings are “more than enough to cover the cost of most people’s monthly gas usage”.

Back in 2013, I wrote this of Gas Club of America;

What any of this has to do with “gas” I have no idea.

The same is true of Our Gas Club. The upfront pitch is “help cover rising gas costs”. What is not openly disclosed is this is achieved through an unsustainable pyramid scheme.

Our Gas Club affiliates sign up for the discount platform for $19.95. Whatever the third-party commission is on this is pure profit for Troy Mason.

Then you sign up for “Platinum Membership”, which doubles as affiliate membership, for $79.95 a month.

Keep paying this fee and recruit others who do the same to get paid.

Our Gas Club does provide marketing material to promote the scheme with but that doesn’t change the pyramid nature of the business model.

As per the FTC, MLM companies without significant retail sales are pyramid schemes.

One could argue the discount platform constitutes a retail service. While it very well might, it has nothing to do with Our Gas Club’s MLM opportunity.

100% of commissions paid out by Our Gas Club are tied to recruitment.

Speaking of the FTC, Our Gas Club is also likely violating the FTC Act:

The above is clearly an income claim, which would fall under deception. Should the FTC investigate, I suspect the only person who comes anywhere near to making six figures a year in Our Gas Club is Troy Mason.

It goes without saying running a pyramid scheme is also a violation of the FTC Act.

As with all MLM pyramid schemes, when affiliate recruitment dries up so too will commissions.

Downlines will stop paying $79.95 a month, seeing those above them stop getting paid. They stop paying their fees and before you know it an irreversible collapse is triggered.

The math behind MLM pyramid schemes guarantees the majority of participants lose money.

Given Ztegrity was the precursor for Our Gas Club and Mason is running both schemes, I’ve added the CFTC’s Ztegrity lawsuit to BehindMLM’s case docket calendar.

Stay tuned for updates as we continue track the case.

 

Update 13th September 2022 – Troy Mason has rebooted Our Gas Club as 25X Club.